Malawi is a landlocked country located in southeast Africa and has an estimated population of over 18 million inhabitants. Lilongwe is the capital and largest city. In 1953 Malawi, became a semi-independent  Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland. The protectorate ended in 1964, and the country became independent under Queen Elizabeth II in 1964.

Malawi is a member of the United Nations, African Union, Commonwealth of Nations, and  Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), among other international groups.

The country is one of the least developed in the world with the economy relying heavily on agriculture. Low life expectancy rates and high infant mortality rates mar the country. The country is a democratic multi-party government. The President serves as chief of state and the head of government. The country’s legislative branch consists of a 193 member unicameral National Assembly.

Malawi’s judicial branch is independent from the executive and legislative. The judiciary is modeled after the English court systems. The Supreme Court is the highest court, and there’s a high court broken down into three areas (commercial, constitutional, and general courts). There’s also a magistrate and an industrial court in Malawi. These courts are further broken down into five grades, including the child justice courts. The country is broken down into 28 districts which fall into one of three regions.

The National Law Review has the latest news and stories relating to Malawi and its relations in Africa and worldwide. Immigration news, travel bans, pension and labor/employment law, and international arbitration, are among the topics visitors can read about online. The latest coverage and most up to date news stories are available at the National Law Review for visitors to read online regularly.


NLR Logo

We collaborate with the world's leading lawyers to deliver news tailored for you. Sign Up to receive our free e-Newsbulletins


Sign Up for e-NewsBulletins