Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands consist of six islands, and 900 smaller islands in Oceania. The capital city of Honiara is located on Guadalcanal island. 

The Solomon Islands became independent in 1978, and the name was changed to Solomon Islands, dropping “The” before its name. Today the country operates as a constitutional monarchy, with Queen Elizabeth II serving as the head of state and Rick Houenipwela as the Prime Minister. The country follows a parliamentary system of government, and officials are elected for five-year terms. There’s also a unicameral, 50-member parliament. The Solomon Islands does not maintain military forces. 

The governor general appoints the Supreme Court’s Chief Justice. All other members of the judicial commission are appointed by other justices.  Judicial Committee of the Privy Council , which is situated in the UK, serves as the highest court for Solomon Islands. 

The Solomon Islands are a member of the United Nations, Commonwealth, the Pacific Islands Forum, Interpol, African Caribbean, South Pacific Commission, and other international groups. 

Solomon Islands are ranked as a lesser developed nation, with the per capita GDP of $600. A majority of the islanders work in the fishing industry, which is the main economic driver in the country. Copra, palm oil, zinc, and other natural resources are also major contributors to the local economy. 

The National Law Review covers news stories related to the Solomon Islands and its ties to the British Crown. Visitors can find news stories about international relations, arbitration, foreign affairs, and other topics online. 


NLR Logo

We collaborate with the world's leading lawyers to deliver news tailored for you. Sign Up to receive our free e-Newsbulletins


Sign Up for e-NewsBulletins