Northern Mariana Islands

Officially known as the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, the insular area of the United States is comprised of 14 islands in the Pacific Ocean. These islands are the 14 northernmost islands in the Mariana Archipelago, apart from Guam, which is a separate US territory. The islands and Guam are the US’s westernmost points in the country. Most inhabitants in the islands live on Saipan, Tinian, and in Rota. The village of  Capitol Hill in Saipan is considered the administrative center of the Northern Mariana Islands.

The islands follow a multiparty presidential representative democratic system of government and are a commonwealth of the United States. The islands have four administrative municipal divisions spread throughout them. A major driving force of the islands’ economy is in tourism and in clothing manufacturing.

The Supreme court is the highest court in the islands and superior courts are courts of appeal. The Supreme court consists of two judges and the chief justice. The federal court has one judge. Any appeals that go beyond the courts in Northern Mariana Islands are heard in the US Supreme Court. The judges are appointed by the governor and appointed by the Senate. They serve an eight-year term, and can serve another if voter-elected.

The National Law Review publishes different legal articles and news stories which are related to the islands and international relations. Immigration news, visa policies, citizenship and residency requirements for inhabitants, trade, and topics including labor and employment news, are among the stories covered online. Visitors will continually find the latest content available, as it relates to the islands and relations with the United States.


NLR Logo

We collaborate with the world's leading lawyers to deliver news tailored for you. Sign Up to receive our free e-Newsbulletins


Sign Up for e-NewsBulletins