Gabon is a sovereign state in Africa. The area is approximately 270,000 KM and the population is approximately 2 million.  Libberville is the capital and the most populous city. The country gained independence from France in 1960 and has had 3 Presidents since it became independent. The country is one of the most economically stable in Sub-Saharan Africa, given its rich resources in petroleum and private investments in the country.

Gabon is a republic with a Presidential form of government. Every seven-years a President is elected by universal suffrage. Presidents have the right to appoint and dismiss the Prime Minister, cabinet members, and judges.

The country has a bicameral legislature. It has a Senate and National Assembly. 120 deputies sit in the National Assembly and elections take place every 5-years. In 2016, Gabon was voted as “not free” by the Freedom in the World.   Elections have been disputed since 2016.

The Judicial branch in Gabon is comprised of several different courts, with different responsibilities. The Constitutional Court is the highest court in the country, followed by the Court of Cassation. This court decides criminal, social, commercial, and civil cases. The Council of state is the judicial branch in charge of administrative issues, and it is the highest court with such responsibilities. The court of Accounts deals with cases involving possible financial issues. All judicial reviews of legislative acts are handled by the Constitutional Chamber of the Supreme Court. The legal system is based on the French Civil Law System.

The National Law Review covers cases and news updates from Gabon and its relationship with Africa, and international relations around the world. Visitors can find the latest updates relating to the country, and its people on the site.


NLR Logo

We collaborate with the world's leading lawyers to deliver news tailored for you. Sign Up to receive our free e-Newsbulletins


Sign Up for e-NewsBulletins