Gold Dome Report – Special Report: 2024 General Election

Article By:

Stanley S. Jones, Jr.

Helen L. Sloat

George S. Ray

Over 5.2 million Georgians went to the polls (or mailboxes or drop boxes) during the 2024 General Election, which culminated Tuesday with a decisive win for President-Elect Donald Trump. While the Republican's win repaints Georgia solidly red in the Electoral College after President Joe Biden's narrow win here in 2020, the election resulted in little change to the partisan makeups of the state's legislature and congressional delegation. There will be plenty of new faces, though, with at least 20 new members between the Georgia Senate and House winning elections to vacant and contested seats. More on what we know now based on unofficial results in the 2024 General Election in this special #GoldDomeReport.

In this Report:

- Georgia Senate Partisan Split Holds After Redistricting
- Georgia House Keeps Triple Digit Majority Despite Highly-Contested Races
- Georgia Congressional Delegation Adds New Member, Keeps Same Partisan Divide

Georgia Senate Partisan Split Holds After Redistricting

As expected, the Georgia State Senate will maintain its current partisan makeup (33 Republicans and 23 Democrats) following the 2024 General Election. Every incumbent who ran this year was reelected, leaving only four vacant seats open for new members. Those seats were split between 3 Democrats and 1 Republican as follows:

- Senator-Elect Drew Echols (R-Alto)
- Senator-Elect Rashaun Kemp (D-Atlanta)
- Senator-Elect Randal Mangham (D-Stone Mountain)
- Senator-Elect Kenya Wicks (D-Fayetteville)

Georgia House Keeps Triple Digit Majority Despite Highly-Contested Races

The Georgia House of Representatives remains in Republican control despite appearing to lose two seats to Democrats. While at least three races still show razor-thin margins at the time of publication, currently available results suggest a partisan breakdown of 100 Republicans and 80 Democrats (down from 102-78). The majority was bolstered by Republican wins in several highly-contested races, including Speaker Pro Tempore Jan Jones (R-Milton) and Representatives Scott Hilton (R-Peachtree Corners), Matt Reeves (R-Duluth), and Deborah Silcox (R-Sandy Springs). Two incumbents were defeated by challengers, with Representative Ken Vance (R-Milledgeville) falling to former state senator Floyd Griffin and Representative Farooq Mughal (D-Dacula) succumbing to Sandy Donatucci. New faces expected in the House in January include:

- Representative-Elect Arlene Beckles (D-Norcross)
- Representative-Elect Bryce Berry (D-Atlanta)
- Representative-Elect Rob Clifton (R-Evans)
- Representative-Elect Robert Dawson (D-Atlanta)
- Representative-Elect Jaclyn Ford Dixon (R-Alapaha)
- Representative-Elect Sandy Donatucci (R-Buford)
- Representative-Elect Robert Flournoy, Jr. (D-Hampton)
- Representative-Elect Floyd Griffin (D-Milledgeville)
- Representative-Elect Tangie Herring (D-Macon)
- Representative-Elect Justin Howard (R-Carrollton)
- Representative-Elect Anissa Jones (D-Macon)
- Representative-Elect Noelle Kahaian (R-Locust Grove)
- Representative-Elect Mekyah McQueen (D-Atlanta)
- Representative-Elect L.C. Myles, Jr. (D-Hephzibah)
- Representative-Elect Angle O'Steen (R-Ambrose)
- Representative-Elect Gabriel Sanchez (D-Smyrna)
- Representative-Elect Mary Ann Santos (D-McDonough)
- Representative-Elect Sylvia Wayfer Baker (D-Douglasville)

Georgia Congressional Delegation Adds New Member, Keeps Same Partisan Divide

There was not much to see in the elections for the state's congressional delegation. With neither of Georgia's U.S. Senators up for re-election this year, the only action was in the U.S. House of Representatives, where 13 of 14 members were re-elected. The lone newcomer is former Trump aide Brian Jack, who easily won the election in Georgia's Third Congressional District, a seat vacated by the retiring U.S. Representative Drew Ferguson (R). The partisan divide remains 9 Republicans and 5 Democrats.

In addition to U.S. Senators Jon Ossoff (D) and Raphael Warnock (D), the state's delegation to the 119th Congress will include:

- District 1 U.S. Representative Buddy Carter (R)
- District 2 U.S. Representative Sanford Bishop (D)
- District 3 U.S. Representative-elect Brian Jack (R)
- District 4 U.S. Representative Hank Johnson (D)
- District 5 U.S. Representative Nikema Williams (D)
- District 6 U.S. Representative Lucy McBath (D)
- District 7 U.S. Representative Rich McCormick (R)

- District 8 U.S. Representative Austin Scott (R)
- District 9 U.S. Representative Andrew Clyde (R)
- District 10 U.S. Representative Mike Collins (R)
- District 11 U.S. Representative Barry Loudermilk (R)
- District 12 U.S. Representative Rick Allen (R)
- District 13 U.S. Representative David Scott (D)
- District 14 U.S. Representative Marjorie Taylor Greene (R)

Copyright ©2025 Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP

National Law Review, Volume XIV, Number 312

Source URL: https://natlawreview.com/article/gold-dome-report-special-report-2024-general-election