Published on The National Law Review https://natlawreview.com

United Kingdom | ETA System Opens for Six Additional Countries

Article By:

BAL Global Practice Group

The United Kingdom's Electronic Travel Authorization pilot program is <u>available</u> to nationals of Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

Key Points:

- As BAL <u>previously reported</u>, the ETA pilot program was originally launched Oct. 25, 2023, for Qatari nationals.
- The ETA is a pre-screening system for visa-free foreign nationals to obtain digital permission to travel or transit through the U.K. Under the ETA system, visitors will be allowed to stay in the U.K. for up to six months for tourism, visiting family and friends, business or study, or three months under the creative worker visa concession.
- Nationals of the six additional countries traveling to the U.K. on or after Feb. 22 can now apply for an ETA through the U.K. <u>ETA app</u>.

Additional Information: Individuals cannot use a passport issued by one of these countries to apply for an ETA if they are not a national of that country. An ETA will be valid for two years (or to the expiry of the holder's passport, whichever is sooner) for multiple entries into the U.K. Individuals who are denied an ETA must apply for a Standard Visitor visa, Temporary Work – Creative Worker visa or transit visa.

BAL Analysis: Beginning Feb. 22, nationals of Bahrain, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates will be required to apply for an ETA before traveling to the U.K. By the end of 2024, an ETA will be required for all visitors who do not need a visa for short stays, including those visiting from European countries, Australia and the United States.

©2025 Berry Appleman & Leiden. All Rights Reserved.

National Law Review, Volume XIV, Number 32

Source URL: https://natlawreview.com/article/united-kingdom-eta-system-opens-six-additional-countries