Florida Minimum Wage To Increase


Effective January 1, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage will increase from $8.56 per hour to $8.65 per hour. The direct minimum wage for tipped employees will increase from $5.54 per hour to $5.63 per hour. Florida employers, meanwhile, may still continue to take a tip credit of up to $3.02 per hour for those classified as tipped employees.

However, this will not be the only minimum wage increase for 2021. In November, Florida voters passed a Constitutional Amendment which will gradually raise the minimum wage to $15.00 per hour by 2026. Specifically, the state minimum wage will increase each September as follows:

On September 30 of each year after 2026, Florida’s minimum wage will again be subject to annual increases based upon the percentage increase in the federal “Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South Region.”


© 2007-2024 Hill Ward Henderson, All Rights Reserved
National Law Review, Volumess X, Number 366